Remember when…

on

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything here. Like, a really long time. Where does the time go? Bah…

I’m not entirely sure where it went or why I stepped away from things blog-wise, but the easy answer to both is to say that life just got in the way. Not only in the sense that time has been more limited than before with all the busy-ness of life, but also in the sense that blogging about our life just didn’t feel like much to write about. You know… getting up, going to work, buying the groceries, paying bills, attending Spanish classes, cooking the meals, walking Antonio, and on and on. And let’s be honest, not many people (that I know of) blog about that kind of stuff back home in Canada either.

But I’m making a comeback. I miss writing and I sincerely want to get back into chronicling our adventures in Mexico so we can have these stories archived somewhere to look back on many years from now.

SecretCenote
The secret swimming hole discovered on a recent cenote ‘hunt’.

This became clear to me recently when Miguel and I revelled in a new superb cenote find – a gorgeous swimming hole in the middle of the jungle. This latest discovery was added to our growing list of adventures we’ve had and of which we began reminiscing about while lounging on the patio over a beer.

“Remember when we found those two cenotes outside of Ticul? And remember how cheap they were?”

“Remember when we took Antonio with us to Campeche? Oh, how I miss road-tripping with the pooch.”

“Remember when we found that super, untouristed beach we could only access by boat?”

“Remember when I got pulled over for speeding…”

“Remember when…?”

Stories that begin with those two simple words are usually the best. They speak of an experience shared. An adventure into the unknown, embellished by a measure of anticipation, a touch of trepidation and all sorts of exciting emotions between. It also means you actually did something, you lived, you broke the routine and made an indelible impression on your heart and your mind. Not to mention, that to phrase a question to another person in this way instantly implies that together you have a unique connection, a shared a moment in time and a bond that cannot be broken. How amazing is that?

These are my favourite stories.

Since that conversation, I have been reminiscing plenty about the “Remember when…” stories we’ve collected since arriving here in Cancun over 18 months ago. Turns out we’ve done a lot more than just get up, go to work, buy the groceries, pay bills, attend Spanish classes, cook the meals, walk Antonio, and on and on.

We’ve toured the Yucatan countless times – on many occasions together, and separately with friends and family too. We’ve navigated the various trials of Mexican life including license plate changes, police run-ins and local wildlife encounters. I even escaped to Colombia for a quick girls getaway with my sister in November 2017 and more recently even tagged along to New York and Vietnam with Miguel on his work trips.

And speaking of “Remember when…”, remember when I proclaimed my resolution to document more back in January 2018? Well, I clearly haven’t done a great job of that, but life happened, resolutions were broken and… well, what really matters is that I’m keen to get documenting again.

So, while a little overwhelmed at how much I’ve missed recording from our adventures, I am determined to get back in the blogging saddle again and to begin cataloguing our trips around the Yucatan peninsula and beyond after too much time…

As Miguel and I sat back on that Saturday afternoon basking in the glory of our cenote find, we debated whether to share it with others or just keep it to ourselves. While no decisive answer was reached after the second beer, suffice it to say there may be a few “Remember when…” stories that are simply best shared – if not experienced – live and in person.

But in the meantime, I’m working hard on the stories we can share. So stay tuned!

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment